Member Login



  Events Icon 2

       Join us on

Help our homeless pets! Get a free pet insurance quote


Support Us
Harriett's Web Page

Poodle (Miniature) / Mixed  : :  Female (spayed)  : :  Senior

More Pics...

I would love you more than you can imagine.
Please adopt me!

Sponsor This Pet

My Rescue
Login to Remember your Favorite Animals and Breeds!

Print an adoption flyer for Harriett!

Contact Harriett's Caretaker/Foster Directly: Deann (

About Harriett

  • Status: Available for Adoption (adoption info)
  • Adoption Fee: $100.00
  • Species: Dog
  • Rescue ID: CC-11363
  • General Color: Tan
  • Color: Apricot
  • Current Size: 15 Pounds
  • Current Age: 14 Years 2 Months (best estimate)
  • Housetrained: Yes

Greetings!  I’m Harriet & I do know my name.  My foster mom thinks I’m a poodle/shih tzu/bichon mix; either way I do need regular grooming to keep my fur neat & beautiful. I’m not a big fan of dog coats, and I'm fine out on a walk with temperatures down in the 20's without one, but I will wear one when my mom insists.  

*** Before you read further, please know that I am a special needs girl. Although I have cataracts and my hearing may be starting to decline, neither of those things are what make me special needs. But what does is my extreme difficulty with change. Families interested in me need to be aware that I will need a lengthy adjustment period that allows me ample space and time to progress in my own way and in my own time. It has taken me a year to bond with my foster mom enough to allow her to pick me up without a struggle. Change is very, very, very hard for me.  Even moving the covers on my favorite sleeping couch can cause me significant distress. If you have a world of patience, a highly routinized existence, and don’t have a lot of visitors to your home, please read on. If not, one of my other fabulous Castaway Critter friends might be a better match for you. ***

I am a shy, reserved girl and it takes me a long time to be comfortable with change, that includes meeting new people; so I will need an owner with plenty of patience to let me ‘do my thing’ and take my time to bond. My ‘thing’ is low key.  I like to snuggle on my couch, wander around outside, go for walks and curl up next to my people in bed at night. I am house trained & will let you know when I need to go out, or its dinner time.  I must tell you, though, I am not a lap dog and generally don’t appreciate being picked up or held even after I am really comfortable with you. Because of this, I would be best in an all-adult home. In fact, I’d rather hang out in my chosen favorite spot and watch you as you go about your day. Once I bond with my one chosen person, I will allow them to pick me up occasionally and I will follow them around or jump in joy when they appear to be heading over near my couch.  There is nothing better in life than a good ear rub, and although I won’t ask for one once you start I don’t want you to stop. I don't like change in my environment, and that includes any visitors to my home and I will bark continually until they leave. My mom thinks I fancy myself a guard dog because I will let her know if anyone drives up our lane or comes to our door, really I’m just want them to go away but I let her think I’m tough even though I wouldn’t hurt a fly.

I live with 4 other dogs in my foster home, and I don't mind them too much. In fact, I like to snuggle up on the couch with one of my canine sisters. However, I am very fearful & suspicious of any new dogs that come into my home, but if they are low key like me I will eventually tolerate them & may even find them comforting to have around.

My favorite things?  Hmmm, let me think.  A good & timely meal, my daily walk & car ride, a consistent stable household & schedule, a good ear or chin rub, and oh yes snuggling up with my people in bed at night.  My foster mom says this is the one exception to my loner status, but as I get to know her & my foster dad better I am showing them how loving I can be all the time. So what if it’s taken me over a year! A lady can take her time can’t she?  

Harriet will bark & chase any car or person that happens past, so a fenced yard is required.

If you have time & patience I bet I you could become my next best friend, too.  How about it?  Just fill out an application & come meet me!

More about Harriett

Is Not Good with Dogs, Not Good with Cats, Is Not Good with Kids

Special Needs: Harriett has cataracts, some hearing loss, and requires a longer than usual time to bond.

Videos of Harriett:

Other Pictures of Harriett (click to see larger version):

Harriett Harriett Harriett Harriett
Harriett Harriett Harriett Harriett

P.O. Box 1421 •  Harrisburg, PA 17105 - 1421  •  (717) 831-5010 •  info [ at ]